de message board webcam thing Silly pictures leave a note? sign the gbook? old crap new crap




beatles and momma and poppa @ ]:-11.17.00-:[
It's funy what music can do to a person. And even more amazing what music, from a band that broke up some 30 years ago, can do to you. Hell..can do to an entire family.

For two hours tonight my entire family [ok those who are still here. me, my mom, and my dad] sat down infront of the TV to watch the Beatles special on ABC. And what was so amazing was that..even though the band is long gone. Whenever a certain song would come on, either my mom, or my dad would reminisce about it. And it was amazing..I mean to me [and my generation] it's impossible for us to fathom the world without 'pop' yet here these 4 guys were the people who invented pop as we know it.

And each one of us had certain memories attached to a song, or whatever came with the song. It was...amazing to sit there and listen to both the presentation and my folks.

Earlier today my mood was well..one of "eh", and now..it's of well almost amazement, that someone can have such an impact on the world as we know it.

And what's also amazing, is that a lot of the songs I heard on this special I had heard before, but not performed by the beatles. "Norweagian Wood" for example, I had never heard by the beatles but instead had heard Craig Honeycutt [of everything] sing it while performing during one of his many solo acoustic shows. I really, really doubt any one group has had such an impact on music as a whole, worldwide.

ps. I thought it was entirely too funny when Pete Townshend called Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band a "really weird" album.

]:-scud-:[

[previous | next ] e-mail | profile | spark | rings | dland