de message board webcam thing Silly pictures leave a note? sign the gbook? old crap new crap




Fall down go boom? @ ]:-12.28.00-:[
So did everyone have a good holiday?

I know I did.


I'm going to skip over the 'boring' stuff of what happened on the trip up and whatever, cause it was just that. Boring.

So it's christmas eve and we spend it at my Aunt Linda's house like every year. We had the normal dinner/schmoozing time before everyone made me and my sister open our presents. So we do, and well I got um..nothing I really wanted. A pretty nice eddie baurer sweater and some money. Oh and a box of twizzlers and a like 'ball' thingy. Whatever she's my aunt and is chill 95% of the time so it's allgood.

The "down" side of the night was out yearly Midnight Mass. Which is always boring, cold, and not fun. But this year I was seated next to my mom and aunt's friend Marlene and before church started we were talking and she was telling me how her daughter was about my age and that she was bored. We kept talking and she mentioned how her daughter [Lauren] was going skiing the day after xmas, and then asked if I wanted to go. I said "Of course" She promised to give my grandma's house a ring sometime christmas day.


So christmas comes around. I woke up somewhat early [at like 9 or so] and went out to see what "santa" had brought us. And we got diddly. I mean it. There wasnt' a damned thing under the tree. My grandma joked that me and my sister weren't good enough to warrent presents, I laughed and shrugged. Guess my folks were tired as hell after church.

Eventually my mom woke up and went downstairs and brought out 'gifts' up. 4 packages. Two my sisters, two mine. I knew what one of my sister's was, but not anything else. After opening up our gifts here's what I got [this is for a all encompassing xmas-total]

  • A wacom drawing tablet for my computer [the only thing I asked for]
  • Two soccer shirts
  • a $30 gift card to Best Buy
  • 4 CD's from my sister [3 Live Pearl Jam ones, and the Beatles 1 CD]
  • And a bunch of money
  • Not to great..but not to shabby either.


    So I bet you're wondering what happened with that ski-"date" thing.

    Well Marlene [my mom's friend] called late christmas night and we decided that I'd go over to her mom's place around 10 or so and we'd head over to her cousin's place and go skiing. So we do that and I meet her daughter, Lauren, who wasn't too bad, somewhat quiet or well..didn't like me.

    We meet up with Lauren's cousins, Danielle and Scott and their two kids. Zack and Mya. Now their whole family was really cool. I know Dainelle and Scott had no idea who the hell I was and yet, they were still giving me a ride up to this ski-resort.

    Finally we got to this resort up in the mountains. Myself and lauren go and rent a snowboard and get all our shit. So we go outside and try to get 'into' the board. It took us a bit but finally we did. And now Lauren had gone boarding before and i was hoping she'd sort of 'tell' me what I had to do. but nope..she didn't. well not really. So I basically fell my way down the friggin mountain. After riding the lift back up I said screw it, it was too cold [10 degree's], and I only had so much time before we had to go 'home'. Yes, yes, I wussed out and traded in my snowboard for a pair of ski's.

    Which after I put on, I was fine with. It took me half a run to figure out how to really stop, and what the other 'basic' controls for ski's are. But shit even after one run at 'full' speed I was so fucking cold I ended up going back into the lodge, where I met up with the rest of the group.

    After eating a ham sammich [courtesy of Scott and Danielle] myself and Lauren headed out. We took a left off the 'main' route and headed down a single black diamond patch. It wasn't too hard, then we were headed towards a double black diamond path. Which I thougth we'd miss. So I asked Lauren if she really wanted to do this run, she was like "Yea come on lets go" and down she went. I followed slowly and then looked at the path, it almost went straight down. I looked up and shook my head and thought to myself how dumb I am for doing this. But I did.

    Well needless to say i didn't die, but I did fall once or twice mainly cause I tried to do that neato skiers-turn to slow down, but ended up turning too tight and my monteum carried me over my ski's and down I went. But eventually I made it down. And well I'd like to commend Lauren because even tho I kept thikning she didn't like me at all she did wait for me to try to slide my ass down the mountain whenever I fell.

    I met back up with Lauren after riding the lift back up the damned mountain. After that like she said "everything was easier" and it was..but jebus fuck it was also loads colder. We got in about 3 more runs before we couldn't feel out damned fingers. After calling it quits we went back into the lodge and chilled, talked about a few things before the rest of the group started to come in and we'd talk with either of them until someone else came around.

    So I had a ton of fun, froze my ass off, and made a sorta-friend. Tho I doubt I'll see Lauren again, but Danielle and Scott I may see next christmas. And well I woke up this morning with a really-really-really sore ass. I mean my whole body hurts a bunch, but my ass especially.

    But that's what christmas is all about, seeing family, getting things, and falling on your ass a whole lot. Mmm-mmm-mmm goodly.

    ]:-scud-:[

    [previous | next ] e-mail | profile | spark | rings | dland