de message board webcam thing Silly pictures leave a note? sign the gbook? old crap new crap




craig honeycutt show @ 08.06.03
Last night was highly enjoyable. I traveled down to Arlington and went to see Craig Honeycutt [as in lead singer from everything] at some bar and it was just awesome. I got there probably at 8:45 or so, sat at the bar and was having a beer when Craig ended up next to me asking the bartender for a water and Red-Bull. I think, or well hope, he recogonized me and asked what I had been up to and we proceeded to shoot the shit for a few minutes. Came to find out that he too, like myself, is moving away from Virginia come September. Only he's not going to Denver, instead he's headed to NYC to keep up with the music.

A few minutes later he was playing, easily to a pretty subdued crowd, but that doesn't bother me. I kind of like it when it's like that because then you don't have to deal with a lot of assholes shouting out "Gimme music!" or such nonsense. What was amusing though is halfway through his set I went over to two ladies, one of whom looked familar and yea turns out I did know them. I had talked to one girl at NYE and had also gone to see e: play to probably 5 people at a TV studio in Vienna, so it was definetly amusing to see her there.

But his set was awesome, I think he probably played for almost 3 hours and some change. He started at 9 and didn't really finish until 12:20 or so. Whiich was totally awesome in my book because he did a bunch of covers [Dylan, U2, Springsteen], some everything songs, and a few of his new ones.

And his new album? Awesome, he had said in talking to him that it was a lot more singer-songwriter oriented because that's who he is and he made the album because he wanted to go off in that direction. I would've been happy if it was just him on acoustic guitar, but he and Steve [of everything also] put some backing instruments on it also, and it sounds really good.

Anyway I took some pictures for once, since I've only been going to everything shows for maybe 7 years and never taken any sort of picture, so here they are. They all open up to larger versions.

And after I got the last picture he ended up signing my new CD. Now I just have to remember to get off work in two weeks so I can see his last show before we both move.

[previous | next ] e-mail | profile | spark | rings | dland