de message board webcam thing Silly pictures leave a note? sign the gbook? old crap new crap




IC #3 @ 10.23.02

Disclaimer: This hasn't actually occured so people possibly coming here from google, please do not think this event has actually happened it's all part of DiarySurvivor4

Man Found Dead In Another Apparent Sniper Attack

It was reported that yet another body was found tonight at 9:30 pm outside the Manassas campas of Northern Virginia Community College. Sources indicate that it was a single gunshot to the head and link it to the other sniper attacks in the DC area.

In what is the 15th person to be gunned down, witnesses to the shooting say Matthew H., lifetime resident of Centreville VA, was walking to his car in a zig-zag pattern after hearing it would help the sniper lose track of him, when he was shot from the side of the head. Witnesses report that the shot could've come from a large portion of wodded area surrounding the college and that a search of the area turned up nothing.

"He was walking to his car, actually trying to avoid the sniper," said fellow classmate Alison Hardner "when all of sudden I heard a pop and he crumpled to the ground. That's when I got to the ground and prayed for my own life" She along with about 20 other students were leaving their class when the attacked happened yet none actually saw a muzzle flash or person running away. The police arrived within 20 minutes and began a through search of the area but it didn't turn up anything. The attack follows not more then a mile away from the previous attack in the Manassas area where Dean Harold Meyers was shot and killled on October 8th while pumping gas at a Sunoco. Matthew is survived by both his parents and older sister. The funeral is planned for October 26th.

Eulogy for Matt

When Matt's parents asked me to write his eulogy I was speechless. I've known him for 10 years but I never thought I'd have to do this, Matt was such a carefree person, always trying to make the most out of today and not really worrying what happened tomorrow. Which makes his death a suprise, hell everyone is suprised at all these sniper killings and we may never know why. But I know he's in a better place now, now he doesnt have to worry about school, or work, he can just watch soccer all day long and I know he will. If there was one thing he liked, it was his soccer, so Matt if you're listening, I hope the tv you have up there is a nice big widescreen tv.

I don't know what I'm going to do now, he was the one friend I had who we didn't ever have to do anything but watch "Wild On" together and still have fun doing it. Sure sometimes we did it drunk and were amazed that the co-host was such a dorky guy, but even when we weren't drunk it was fun. When I first heard that there was another shooting in Manassas I thought to myself "there goes another" but then I remembered that he had a night class like myself and that's when I got worried and called his house, only to find out the bad news. It was such a suprise because you never think of your friends dying, especially not by the hands of some lunatic sniper.

I'm really at a loss here for words because there is no one word to describe someone like Matt, he was one of those people to go between groups always knowing someone here or there, always having a friend or two whatever bar we went to. I swear I wouldn't have gone out drinking so much if he wasn't around to get us hookup's at all the different bars around town.

I'll part with my fondest memory of Matt. It had to have been the summer after I had my second cancer surgery, around 9th grade. When my mom allowed myself, Matt and our other friends Josh to put up the sleeping trailer in my backyard and sleep in it. Right before we went to bed Matt said to Josh "See this bottle of whipped cream? As soon as you fall asleep I'm going to whip-cream you," where you take whipped cream and put it on a persons hand as they sleep, then lightly tickle their nose so they wake up and smack at their forehead, thus getting whipped cream all over their face. Well poor Josh was so scared he said in the morning that he never slept and I'll never forget the laugh that came out of Matt when he found that out, it was almost as if he won the lottery. So I'll always remember that face.


[previous | next ] e-mail | profile | spark | rings | dland